Make / Model Search

News - latest article

2003 World Rally Championship

Spanish flier: Carlos Sainz has won the Rally of Turkey, the third round of the FIA World Rally Championship, to clinch his first victory of the year - and his first victory for the Citroen team. The Spaniard's success in his Citroen Xsara makes him the joint most successful driver of all time, equalling team-mate Colin McRae's record of 25 world championship rally wins. Peugeot's Richard Burns took second place for Peugeot, 58 seconds ahead of Ford Focus driver Francois Duval, to claim eight

Carlos Sainz gets on top of the WRC rostrum in Turkey

3 Mar 2003

Driver's championship standings:
Richard BURNS (GB) Peugeot - 18
Colin McRAE (GB) Citroen - 17
Carlos SAINZ (ESP) Citroen - 16
Markko MARTIN (EST) Ford - 13
Sébastien LOEB (FRA) Citroen - 12
Marcus GRONHOLM (FIN) Peugeot - 10
Tommi Makinen (FIN) Subaru - 9
Francois DUVAL (FRA) Ford - 8
Gilles PANIZZI (FRA) Peugeot - 4
Petter SOLBERG (N) Subaru - 3
Cedric ROBERT (FRA) Peugeot - 3 Manufacturer's Championship standings:
Citroen 39
Peugeot 31
Ford 25
Subaru 13
Skoda 6
Hyundai 3 Next round of the 2003 WRC: Rally of New Zealand (April 9 - April 13)

Click to share

Click below to follow us on
Facebook  Twitter  Instagram

News categories

Motor industry news

GoAutoNews is Australia’s number one automotive industry journal covering the latest news, future and new model releases, market trends, industry personnel movements, and international events.

Catch up on all of the latest industry news with this week's edition of GoAutoNews
Click here