Make / Model Search

News - Holden

Victoria dominates Holden dealer awards

Top class: Brighton Holden dealer principal Ray Galea (left) with interim chairman and managing director Jeff Rolfs.

More than half of Holden’s 2014 Grand Master dealers from Victoria, two from NSW

21 May 2015

HOLDEN has announced the winners of its 2014 ‘Grand Masters’ dealership recognition program, with more than half of its best retailers last year coming from Victoria.

Unlike other annual ‘dealer of the year’ awards programs, the Grand Master title is handed out to 32 dealerships – divided into groups based on sales volume – across Holden’s national retail network, which at the end of last year was at 232 outlets.

No fewer than 18 of the 32 winning dealerships were from Victoria, leaving only six in Queensland, five in South Australia, just two in New South Wales and one in Western Australia.

Six dealerships also received the coveted ‘Chairman’s Award’ which recognises their “outstanding success” in “surpassing their peers and finishing top of their Masters Group” – and, again, Victoria dominated the field with five winners.

These were Brighton Holden in Elsternwick, Colin Watson Holden in Traralgon, Cranbourne Holden, Barry Bourke Holden in Warragul and Bruce Hocking Motors in Rochester.

The remaining Chairman’s Award went to Gatton Auto in Queensland.

The Victorian Grand Masters winners also included Smiths of Geelong, Patterson Cheney Holden (Vermont), Watson Holden (Bundoora), Booran Holden (both Dandenong and Cheltenham outlets), Alan Mance Holden (Footscray), Barry Bourke Holden (Berwick), Winter & Taylor Holden (Geelong), Sunbury Holden, Mornington Holden, Callaghan Motors (Warrnambool), Mildura Holden and Mustica Holden (Cobram).

Other Queensland winners were Zupps Holden (Aspley), Bartons Bayside Holden (Wynnum), Ireland Holden (Cairns), Lawrence’s Holden (Rockhampton) and Crossley Holden (Proserpine).

South Australia’s top-performing dealers were City Holden (Adelaide), Metro Holden (Thebarton), Southgate Holden (Reynella), Hamilton Holden (Somerton Park) and Steinborner Holden (Gawler).

The only standout NSW dealerships were Barry Smith Holden (Pennant Hills) and Peninsula Holden (Bankstown), while the sole recipient from WA was Rockingham Holden.

Holden says the annual awards program measures “sales excellence” and other criteria across each dealership’s performance, including customer service, aftersales delivery and training.

Interim chairman and managing director Jeff Rolfs, who hands over to Mark Bernhard next month after stepping up from the role of chief financial officer with Gerry Dorizas’ sudden departure last October, said the 2014 winners “delivered superior results in every facet of the business” – and emphasised that Grand Master status is difficult to achieve.

“This is not an award that is easily won,” he said. “It is given to those select few that are committed to excellence and enhancing the experience of every customer who walks through their door.

“This award is a reflection of the hard work and dedication of the dealership’s entire team who are the face of the Holden brand each and every day.”

The Road to Recovery podcast series

Click to share

Click below to follow us on
Facebook  Twitter  Instagram

Holden articles

Motor industry news

GoAutoNews is Australia’s number one automotive industry journal covering the latest news, future and new model releases, market trends, industry personnel movements, and international events.

Catch up on all of the latest industry news with this week's edition of GoAutoNews
Click here