Make / Model Search

News - Honda

Honda heralds award-winning dealers

Top notch: Dave Potter Honda is billed as South Australia ‘number one’ Honda dealer, and the Potter family has been involved in the state’s motoring community since 1948.

Top-performing Honda retailers in 2013 named ahead of gala awards presentation

9 Feb 2014

UPDATED: 02/06/2014HONDA Australia has revealed the winners of its 2013 Dealer Excellence Awards, with three dealerships picking up their fourth consecutive award in the annual program.

Burswood Honda in Victoria Park, Western Australia, New World Honda in Narre Warren, Victoria, and Dave Potter Honda in Glenelg South, South Australia, have won an award every year since the Excellence program replaced the long-running state-based Dealer of the Year awards in 2010.

Rather than name an individual DOTY in specific categories, the Honda awards program was revised to honour several outstanding dealers across four groups based on sales targets.

As previously reported, each dealership has the opportunity to win an award if it meets the qualifying criteria – covering business areas such as sales, service, parts and customer satisfaction – and finishes in the top five of its respective group.

Thirteen dealers were recognised for their performance in 2013 – a year in which Honda sales were up 9.6 per cent to just shy of 40,000 new registrations, continuing its rebound after natural disasters in Japan and Thailand curtailed its sales volume to around 30,000 units in 2011.

This was, however, short of the 45,000 it originally set out to achieve last year, and the company is now anticipating sales will flat-line in 2014. It was previously shooting for 50,000 units in 2014 and 60,000 in 2015.

In addition to Burswood Honda and Dave Potter Honda, the winning dealerships in group one were Eastern Honda and Essendon Honda in Victoria, and Southside Honda in Queensland.

Joining New World Honda in group two were Nordic Honda (SA), Wangara Honda (WA), Ringwood Honda (Vic) and Austral Honda (Qld).

In group three, three winners were named – Ballarat City Honda (Vic), Blue Ribbon Honda (Qld) and Ireland Honda (NSW) – while there were no winners in group four for 2013.

A gala dinner will be held in April to officially present the awards and to recognise the efforts of the entire dealer network.

Pictured below: Peter Dyer, Burswood Honda Neil Ireland, Ireland Honda John Tofani, Ringwood Honda Tony Jowett, Eastern Honda Cameron Bertalli, New World Honda Justin Krousorattis, Ballarat City Honda Stephen Collins, Honda Australia John Gardner, Wangara Honda James Simpson, Southside Honda Noriyuki Takakura, Honda Australia Troy Hose, Austral Honda Yuan Lieutier, Essendon Honda Hillar Puvi, Nordic Honda and Chris Potter, Dave Potter Honda.

The Road to Recovery podcast series

Read more

Click to share

Click below to follow us on
Facebook  Twitter  Instagram

Honda articles

Motor industry news

GoAutoNews is Australia’s number one automotive industry journal covering the latest news, future and new model releases, market trends, industry personnel movements, and international events.